Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

The Tale of the Expanding Oatmeal

Posted on: June 10, 2010

Last week, as usual, I got my daily Hungry-Girl email newsletter. And, as usual, I made a mental note of some of her great ideas and then filed the newsletter in my email trash bin. But this morning, I remembered one of HG’s tips from last week and decided to give it a try.

After my delicious oatmeal-y treat from yesterday, I am oatmeal inspired. But, plain oatmeal in the morning doesn’t typically do it for me. Like one of HG’s readers, I find that the ½ cup serving size isn’t big enough for a volume eater like me. So, per Hungry Girl’s suggestion, I tried to expand it with extra liquid.

Disclaimer: Results will vary! I did this at work with a microwave and was unable to follow HG’s recipe perfectly.

Here’s what I did…

Combined a packet of Quaker Instant Oatmeal (as opposed to the old fashioned oats from her recipe), with 1 cup unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, and 1 cup of water.

I mixed all of these in a large uncovered Tupperware and microwaved in 1 minute increments. I had to let the mixture cool between some of the zapping because it started to expand and bubble over.

In total, the process took me about 30 minutes to zap and cool. HG’s stove-top procedure is likely much more simple!

The result: a large serving of gooey oaty goodness.

Size Comparison: crock of oatmeal vs. can of soup vs. splenda packet

Another angle of the super-sized oats

The next time, I will definitely be trying old fashioned oats on the stove. I am willing to bet that the less-dense “instant” variety of oats suffer in this recipe. The more-dense old fashioned variety have a better chance of absorbing the 2 cups of liquid to expand even more. Stay tuned for the next experiment!

2 Responses to "The Tale of the Expanding Oatmeal"

Interesting. I’ve never though of adding more liquid to make more oatmeal. I bet you’re right, and the old fashioned oats would do better!

I tried this yesterday morning and it was really good! What is your next experiment?

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

