Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

Oh Say Can You See

Posted on: June 4, 2010

I am happy to report that I had a great Memorial Day weekend. Both the planning ahead and my accountability to my few blog readers helped me to enjoy a relaxing weekend without damaging my waistline.

Thanks to my online research, I allowed myself a boardwalk indulgence and did so completely guilt free. I snacked on fruits and veggies which turned out to be the perfect, refreshing snack for the hot weather. And I even got in a solo run/walk one morning and another long walk with my sister-in-law the next day.

Want to know the best part? It didn’t feel like work. Just fun. In making up my mind before leaving and doing a little mental rehearsing, I was prepared for any temptations that came my way. Surprisingly, I didn’t even feel much temptation from the beach treats that normally lure me in. This time around I actually preferred apple slices to pizza slices. I craved fresh cherries over fresh popped caramel corn. The crunch of slice of red pepper trumped the crunch of a tortilla chip when dipped in salsa.

Another bonus: I returned from the long weekend away feeling good about myself! I enjoyed my time on the beach and I took care of myself in the process. That’s an all-around win.

1 Response to "Oh Say Can You See"

Great Job! 🙂 All your planning worked out!

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

