Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

Hummus Fail

Posted on: June 4, 2010

Hummus Fail

For months I have wanted to try making my own hummus. Some of the best hummus dips I’ve had have been homemade by friends. They all tell me how easy it is:

Drain a can of garbanzo beans, add some olive oil and garlic, blend.

Uhm… what did I do wrong?

It looks fine, right? I wish I could describe the taste through text. It was disgusting. I’m not sure if it was too much oil, too much salt, too little garlic, not enough red pepper…  Whatever the problem was, it was big. Ick.

I followed a non-recipe. That is likely my problem. I googled “how to make hummus without tahini” because, well, I didn’t have tahini. Was that my problem? The missing sesame paste?

If anyone out there in the blogosphere can guide me to making my own hummus, please do. I can whip up a variety of diet-friendly yummy-licious meals. How can I fail at food processing some beans and oil? Help!

2 Responses to "Hummus Fail"

I’m sorry your hummus didn’t turn out well. Unfortunately, I’m no help with what went wrong because I don’t particularly like hummus. Hopefully someone can help you out!

I make homemade hummus all the time! It does taste a little different without tahini but I almost never use it. You do need a fair amount of oil to get it right. Here’s my recipe:

1 can chick peas (drain and pat dry)
1/2 cup olive oil (I start with 1/4 cup and add more as necessary)
2 cloves garlic minced
1 tablespoon chopped onion
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons lemon juice

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

