Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

Tara Costa’s Get-Out-of-a-Rut Workout

Posted on: June 2, 2010

I plan to post later this week about my Memorial Day weekend. But I need to get caught up on a few things first.

In the meantime, I am re-posting something from Tara’s blog. Tara Costa was the 3rd place contestant on Season 7 of the Biggest Loser. Her attitude on the show was incredibly motivating. I peek at here blog every now and then to steal some ideas and follow-up on her weight loss journey. Yesterday, she posted a great workout plan for those times when no machine or class sounds appealing.

Here’s her advice:

Feeling a litte…’ehhish’ but know you still need a workout? Try 10’s

We all just had a long weekend, but now it is time to get back to the grind of work and working out – 1st BBQ’s of the season are over and Summer is has officially started in my book. Some days, especially like today, where my focus is ZERO and I want to work out but I know I won’t be able to handle running on the treadmill or listening to the spin instructor rant or rave – I do 10’s – This is something I started doing while on the Biggest Loser.

While on the ranch all you got is time to work out, but at times you still struggle to get/stay motivated. During those times, I did my 1o’s – at the gym I find 10 different pieces of cardio equipment. It can be anything, some examples are elliptical, treadmill, rower, stair master, recumbent bike, spin bike, arm bike and rebounder (mini trampolines).

Pick which pieces of equipment you are going to use and get on them for 10 minutes each and push hard those 10 minutes! The time will fly by and before you know it you will only have to push another 2 or 3 minutes to complete the 10.

1. I normally start on the treadmill and a fast walk for 2 minutes then every minute increase the incline till I get to 12 or 13 for my last minute
2. Head over to the rower for 10 minutes trying to keep my watts high and consistent
3. Jump back on treadmill with small incline 3 or 4 and do side shuffles for 2 minutes on both the left and right sides than walk backwards for a minute and REPEAT to get me to 10 Minutes
4. STAIR MASTER – 10 minutes only increase my levels – Won’t allow myself to decrease it! Come on it is only 10 MINUTES!
5. Spin Bike – this routine will vary but will do heavy resistance, stand and climb for 2 minutes followed with in the saddle sprints 4 20 second sprints with 10 sec rests (total 2 minutes). REPEAT. Last two minutes you choose 1 – heavy resistances and climb or sprints again.
6. Elliptical Sprints 30 seconds on 20 seconds off for 10 MINUTES – make sure the level is high enough where you feel some resistance as you move. My level would not be below an 8 or 9.

Okay All, I hope this can help you get through an hour workout. Also remember its your workout- you make it what you want. You are the only one who knows how you will feel once it is all done. Enjoy it =)

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

