Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

Fear and Loathing in New Jersey

Posted on: May 28, 2010

I am beach-bound in a few hours for the long weekend. The hubby and I are spending the next four days at the Jersey Shore with his family. While I am thrilled for an extra few days away from the office and for some fun in the sun, I am also starting to feel the impending doom that comes with the start of bathing suit season.

Why didn’t I lose those last 5-10lbs before Summer? Will this swim skirt mask my dimply thighs or draw extra attention to them? Does laying flat on my back on the lounge chair minimize belly rolls or lend itself to the dreaded stomach sprawl?

Year after year I get the same seasonal stress. I start to beat myself up about why I didn’t start doing 1,000 crunches a day back in March to prepare. I do Google searches for the most natural looking self tanners (tan fat looks better than white fat after all!). But this year, I’m vowing to chill out.

As I quoted in my Motivating Mantras post:

“You wouldn’t worry so much about what other people thought if you realized how seldom they do.”
~ Eleanor Roosevelt.

Armed with a few cute beach cover-ups and an adorable pair of $5 aviator shades, I am going to enjoy this long weekend for what it is: a time to spend with family and a time to relax.

After all, what’s the joy in a 4-day weekend if I spend it loathing my body?

1 Response to "Fear and Loathing in New Jersey"

Good for you! For Memorial Day weekend at the lake at my mom’s houseboat, I actually walked around with my hair undone and no makeup. I actually felt comfortable in my own skin for a change. Not to mention that I walked around the dock in my bathing suit top all weekend without really feeling self-concious. It was pretty relaxing!

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

