Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

A Week In Food: Day 3

Posted on: May 19, 2010

Wednesday morning I was asked to sub for a spinning instructor at the gym. I had already planned to go to ZUMBA with a friend at night so I earned even more activity points than I’d planned. The early morning spin session left me a bit more hungry than usual so you will see some high calorie/point items during my daytime menu.

Then, later in the evening I got especially hungry and binge-y. An evening alone coupled with a heavy exercise day led me to make a few poor choices and dip into a few extra flex points. That’s why they are there for but in the future I will be aware of the challenges I face on heavy exercise days and plan accordingly.

I counted 4 activity points for my 45 minute spinning class and another 4 for the hour-long ZUMBA class.

Wednesday (22 point target + 8 activity points)…

Breakfast:
2 cups coffee with fat free half n’ half and sugar free syrup
Total: 40 calories, 0 fat, 0 fiber = 1 point
1 cup strawberries.
Smoothie: 1 scoop soy protein powder, 1 cup unsweetened Almond Milk, 1tbsp ground flax seeds.
Total: 256 calories, 8.5g fat, 6.3g fiber = 5 points

Breakfast Day #3: Smoothie, Strawberries


Lunch:
½ cup quinoa mixed with ½ cup corn and ½ cup peppers and onions seasoned with a dash of taco seasoning.
Total: 208 calories, 2.5g fat, 4g fiber = 4 points

Lunch Day #3: Quinoa, Veggies

Snack:
Light yogurt mixed with 1tbsp ground flax seeds.
2 Fiber One Crunchy Fudge Cookies
Total: 333 calories, 7g fat, 7g fiber = 6 points

Snack Day #3: Yogurt, Flax Seeds, Fiber Cookies

Dinner:
Oven-Baked Omelet.
Total: 280 calories, 6g fat, 3g fiber = 6 points

Dinner Day #3: Oven-Baked Omelet

After Dinner Snack:
2 gala Apples
Total: 160 calories, 0g fat, 10g fiber = 3 points

Snack 2 Day #3: Apple Slices

Dessert:
I was still hungry around 8:30p.m. and started picking at foods. None are pictured but I did a little mindless eating…
2 Fiber One Crunchy Fudge Cookies
1 Blue Bunny birthday cake ice cream sandwich.
1 Skinny Cow fudge bar.
Total: 456 calories, 5.5g fat, 8g fiber = 9 points.

As I noted in a past post, I struggle with binge eating tendencies. I was overly hungry from two workouts AND I was home alone last night since my hubby was working late. That combination led me to over eat some low-point trigger foods. Even the “healthy” snacks can be dangerous when I let myself get too hungry and I am alone.

My total for the day, came to 34 points. That used up my 22 daily points, my 8 activity points, and 4 additional flex points (29 flex points remain until Monday). Clearly, I over-did it. I should have opted for more filling foods to satisfy my hunger instead of empty calories. Even after 5 years of Weight Watching I am still learning from my mistakes.

For non Weight Watcher members who opt for calorie counting, my totals came to: 1733 calories, 29.5 g fat, 41g fiber.

1 Response to "A Week In Food: Day 3"

I love that you posted honestly about your overeating last night. Kudos to you for owning up to it and being truthful about it here. I’m the same way. Depending on the circumstances, I can overeat anything, as you know, even lima beans!

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

