Put Your Mind To It, Go For It

A Week in Food: Day 1

Posted on: May 18, 2010

A little background…

As a Weight Watcher, I calculate my food intake based on calories, fat, and fiber. I am allowed 22 points per day plus any activity points I earn.

Yesterday morning I earned 5 activity points in a 45 minute spinning class and using the stair-mill for 20 minutes.

Monday (22 point target + 5 activity points banked if needed)…

Breakfast:
2 cups coffee with fat free half n’ half and sugar free syrup
Total: 40 calories, 0 fat, 0 fiber = 1 point
Crepe“: 1 La Tortilla Factory Soft Wrap, 3 tbsp sugar free jelly, 1 tbsp ground flax seeds.
Total: 162 calories, 6.5g fat, 14.5g fiber = 3 points

Breakfast Day #1: "Crepe"


Lunch:
Amy’s Split Pea Soup.
3 Coco Pops.
2 cups grapes.
Total: 435 calories, 0g fat, 13g fiber = 8 points

Lunch Day #1: Soup, CocoPops, Grapes

Snack:
1 cup strawberries.
13 sugar free chocolate Miss Meringue Cookies.
Total: 86 calories, 0g fat, 5g fiber = 1 point

Snack Day #1: Strawberries, Cookies

Dinner:
2.5 ounces grilled chicken on top of mixed lettuce topped with leftover bruschetta.
Served with steamed broccoli seasoned with Mrs. Dash Onion and Herb.
Miracle Mashies.
Total:  306 calories, 7.5g fat, 4g fiber = 6 points

Dinner Day #1: Salad, Chicken, Bruschetta, Broccoli, Mashed "Potatoes"

Dessert:
1 cup Turkey Hill no sugar added, fat free vanilla ice cream topped with 1tbsp sprinkles.
Total: 190 calories, 0g fat, 10g fiber = 4 points

Dessert Day #1: Ice Cream, Sprinkles

My total for the day came to 23 points. I used just one activity point to have a completely satisfying food day. For non Weight Watcher members who opt for calorie counting, my totals came to: 1219 calories, 14 g fat, 46.5g fiber.

6 Responses to "A Week in Food: Day 1"

Your food for today looks so yummy! I love that you incorporated sweet stuff to feel satisfied. I’m thinking I need to invest in some small dishes so that I can have SF or low-fat ice cream without over-indulging. Those Miss Meringue cookies look really tasty!

Bianca – The little bowls are a huge keep in keeping me from overindulging with giant servings.

I bought two sets of measurement-marked prep bowls that I use for ice cream and yogurt:
http://www.amazon.com/Mario-Batali-Measuring-Bowls-Penne/dp/B000TGYWEA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1274282832&sr=8-2

Karen – I’ve been a Health Discovery “lurker” for over a year and have found you to be very inspirational and REAL. I always read your posts when they come up. This blog is GREAT!!! I will be book marking it and following. It is fun to see what other people eat and I will be looking for the cookies next time I’m out. Thanks for the links to the foods!! Your meals are fun and full of variety. I tend to eat the same thing for B & L and eat what I fix for the family for dinner. Keep up the great work!!

Sheri – Nice to “meet” you! Thank you for your sweet comments about my real-ness. That makes me feel really great. I appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment and come out of “lurker” status.

Please do bookmark me! I’d love to hear more from you when you want to chime in.

FYI – the meringue cookies are decent but not overly satisfying. They have a bit of a chalky consistency but with stats like that for a large serving I chose quantity over quality.

I like to see your food diary as well as the pics. Looks yummy. Oh and I noticed that you like ice cream for dessert. My Wal Mart and Publix carries something called Skinny Cow brand ice cream desserts. They have something new already measured into small cups and come in flavors like cookies and cream, chocolate fudge something and strawberry shortcake. They are excellent and are only 2 points per serving. One other flavor called caramel cone or something like that is 3 pts. It’s my go to decadent snack. If I have no points left, then I have to gain it through exercise……Will keep watching this blog!

Thanks for the idea. I’ve heard about the Skinny Cow cups and will definitely keep on the lookout. I plan to buy some when they are on sale.

I am an ice cream freak so I’ll try anything to get that fix.

Leave a Reply

Hot Sundae

Fictional girl singing group, Hot Sundae, sang "Put your mind to it, go for it, get down and break a sweat!"

Archives

